Main Dishes · Recipe

Country Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

I ventured into my cookbook pile again last night and came out with a recipe for Country Scalloped Potatoes and Ham. It seemed easy enough and I’ve had a ham knocking around in my freezer for a while that I have been wanting to use up, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. It was pretty good, especially for my first attempt ever at home-made scalloped potatoes! It is made in the slow-cooker, and I am always a fan of set it and forget it meals. I also liked that both the starch and meat components of the meal were all done together in one pot, leaving me to only worry about the vegetable component. I gave the recipe an 8 out of 10 and my boyfriend gave it 7.5 out of 10. If anyone else gives this recipe a try, let me know how it turned out for you!

Ingredients

8 potatoes, peeled and thinly slicedwpid-20150423_193719.jpg

1 onion, chopped

1 pound, fully-cooked ham, cut into 1-inch cubes

1 package (1-oz.) country-style gravy mix

1 can (10 1/2-oz.) cream of mushroom soup

2 cups water

2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions

  1. Combine potatoes, onion and ham in a lightly greased stoneware
  2. Combine gravy mix, mushroom soup and water; whisk until combined. Pour gravy mixture over potatoes
  3. Cover and cook on LOW 7 to 9 hours, or HIGH 3 to 4 hours. Top with cheese during last 30 minutes of cooking

 

Leave a Reply

