Favourite Things

Favorite Things: Songs

I feel that music and songs are an amazing way to express yourself and connect with others. Everyone has one or two songs that they truly connect to and there are often so many memories attached to particular songs. I thought that I might share my three favourite songs at the moment, and the reason why they speak to me. Just a warning, I am a country music fan and country music is all I listen to, so that is what all my favourite songs are going to be!

1. Good Night Kiss – Randy Houser

This is my boyfriend and myself’s song. Every-time I hear it’s opening chords, it instantly makes me think of him. On our very first date, we were both pretty nervous and unsure about how the other felt. We had our first kiss on the top of the Ferris Wheel at Niagara Falls and we like to think that it all started right there with that kiss. When I first heard this song, and the line, “Let’s start it with a good night kiss…”, I instantly knew that this would be our song.

2. I Don’t Dance – Lee Brice

This is the song I plan to dance to on my wedding day. My favourite hobby is line dancing and it is one of my biggest passions. Unfortunately for my boyfriend, he is a bit lacking in dancing skills. He knows how important it is for me to be able to throw on my cowboy boots and get out on the wooden line dancing floor every so often though, so he takes me out and even gives it a try sometimes. He even learned my favourite dance to be able to do it with me. I think the chorus, “I don’t dance, but here I am, spinning you round and around in circles. It ain’t my style, but I don’t care. I would do anything with you anywhere” really speaks to our relationship. We both are willing to get out of our comfort zones for the each-other and I think that’s what helps keep us strong.

3. River Bank – Brad Paisley

This song just makes me want to get up and dance! Brad Paisley has a lot of fun songs, and this one is my favourite at the moment. It makes me think of summer and getting out on the water to swim, sea-doo and fish. This song also happens to be one of my favourite to line dance to, it’s just an all-around fun and happy song. And how can you not love a music video with a water-skiing squirl in it?

Leave a Reply

