Ipsy

Ipsy Glam Bay – May

603798_835115893202400_1426551144366133743_n

Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service, sending you a new make-up bag and 5 beauty samples. Samples can include make-up, hair products, fragrance, etc. Ipsy charges $10 US/month, so keep in mind you be charged based on the current exchange rate. For May I was charged $18.71, which is not bad compared to last month. Each month features a different theme, and May’s theme was “Jet-setter”.

Buckle up, buttercup. We’ll bring the beauty essentials and you bring the flair. Celeb status or not, we’re flying first class to fabulous, and the sky’s the limit. Jet-lag is for amateurs.

First up is the bag itself. This month featured special edition mini make-up bags by “Breakups to Makeups”. There were 3 different bags that went out, each version with a different saying printed on the front. Mine said, “Contents: My Life” on the front.

wpid-20150601_173905.jpg

The first thing I pulled out of my bag was a 1.0 oz sample bottle of Briogeo’s Rosarco Milk Reparative Leave-In Conditioning SprayThis ultra lightweight leave-in conditioning spray fortifies your hair with nourishing rosehip, argan, and coconut oils. Its silicone-free formula adds hydration & moisture without weighing hair down. I seriously loved this product. It has a wonderful scent and after the very first use my hair was already softer and shinier. A 5.1 oz bottle of this product costs $20, making my sample worth $3.92.

wpid-20150601_173946.jpg

The second thing out of my bag was a sample size of Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide on Lip PencilUrban Decay’s long-lasting, waterproof liner glides on smoothly to prime AND define—for long-lasting lip colour and clean lines. 24/7 stays put through everything (yes, EVERYTHING) you do. When you use this liner to fill in your lips completely, it primes them for lipstick or gloss, grabbing on to colour to help it last. I have never used a lip pencil, and to be honest have no idea what to do with one. This product is probably not going to be used. Included with the lip pencil was two samples of Urban Decay’s brand new Revolution High-Colour Lip-gloss in shades “Failbait” and “Bittersweet”. I have yet to try them out yet, but the purple shade is a little too out there for me and probably won’t be used either. A full size Lip Pencil is $20, making my sample worth $13.33.

Third was a full sized BellaPierre Cosmetics Waterproof Mineral Gel Eye-liner PencilThis super creamy mineral gel eye-liner formula provides effortlessly smooth application and intense pigment for amazing coverage and all day wear. Plus it’s waterproof so you’ll definitely be smudge-free! This will unfortunately be another product that does not get used. I don’t use eye-liner, I have attempted it before but just can’t seem to master the art. This full sized Pencil is worth $14.99

My fourth pull from the bag brought out a full sized Luxie Beauty Tapered Blending Eye BrushThis Luxie Rose Gold Tapered Blending Eye Brush is a 100% Animal Cruelty Free brush with high quality synthetic hair bristles that are soft to the touch. With its Vegan make-up qualities from bristles to the ferrule this Rose Gold brush is a must have in your make-up collection. I was very excited to get another make-up brush. I received my first one ever in my first Ipsy bag a few months ago. This is a great brush, it’s very soft and gets the job done. I loved it so much that I even ordered another brush from their website. This full sized brush is $12.

wpid-20150601_173843.jpg

My last product in my bag was a 10 ml sample size of Amie Morning Dew Matte-Finish MoisturiserMorning Dew is a really light daily moisturiser that’s totally mineral oil-free and parabens-free. Quickly and easily absorbed into the skin, it gives skin all the hydration it needs while controlling shine and leaving a smooth, matte finish that’s a perfect base for make-up or facing the day or night ‘au naturel’! I have very sensitive skin and most skin products I use leave my skin red and burning. This one however has been great and leaves my skin feeling noticeably softer. I would definitely consider picking up a full sized of this product. A full sized tube of this product is $12, making my sample worth $1.20.

All in all, this wasn’t my favourite Ipsy bag so far, but I didn’t hate it either. I won’t be using a lot of products I received, however the ones that I did try I really liked. I received 1 hair product, 1 skin product and 3 make-up products. My bag was worth a total of $45.55 and after paying $18.71, it had a total value of $26.73. If you would like to try Ipsy out for yourself, please click here. If you are already subscribed, I would love to hear what you received in your bag!

wpid-20150601_174048.jpg

This post contains referral links

Leave a Reply

