Uncategorized

How I Stretch my Student Pennies

help-me-im-poor
If your a student like myself, spiralling into debt, then you probably look for any opportunity possible to save your precious pennies. Food is one of my biggest budget busters, especially when trying to eat healthy. I have found a few tools that I use to try and make every last dollar count and I would love to share them with you. All the tools I mention are ones that I personally use myself and all opinions expressed are solely my own.

The first is a great website I found to help cut down on the amount of food waste I have to throw out, called supercook.com. I wrote a post on this site a while ago, which you can find here. When buying fresh foods and only cooking for one or two, you unfortunately end up having a lot of leftover food that just doesn’t get eaten in time. This site is a great solution to this problem. You simply log in and plug in all the foods you have in your fridge/freezer/pantry, and the site will search the internet and bring back recipe’s using only ingredients you already have on hand. If their is something specific you are looking to use up, you can tell the site to specifically search for recipes using that certain ingredient. It’s a great place to find inspiration for using your every day ingredients in ways you hadn’t thought of before. I definitely recommend checking supercook out if using up your food is something you have a problem with.

My second handy tool I use is my PC Plus card. I recommend this to everyone, not just students, because it is a free and easy way to save a few dollars off your grocery bill. I have this free and handy card downloaded as an app straight onto my smart phone which I get scanned each time I go to the grocery store. Each Friday, I log on and download my weekly “offers” which offer me points for buying groceries that I would normally purchase any-ways. The more you use the card, the more it gets to know what groceries you normally buy. Once you accumulate 20,000 points, you can redeem them for $20 of free groceries right at the register! It surprisingly does not take very long to accumulate 20,000 points. I usually reach it twice a month, and that is with gro
cery shopping only once a week. My PC Plus card has saved me a lot of money on groceries that I normally buy any-ways and is very easy and convenient to use.

Again, the websites I have mentioned in this post are all ones that I personally use myself, and all opinions are solely my own. If you have any money saving tricks or tips that you would like to share, I would love to hear them in the comments!

b241151dee7d24f2416a44b74bad513e

One thought on “How I Stretch my Student Pennies

Leave a Reply

