Rawspicebar

Raw Spice Bar – May Box

peruvian-chicken-header11

Raw Spice Bar is a monthly spice subscription service, which features a different culture’s spices and recipe’s each month. Each box you receive will contain 3 small packets of high quality spice blends and 3 recipes which come together to create a 3-dish meal of the given month’s cultural cuisine. Subscriptions are $6/month with free shipping and are available in 1, 6 or 12 month subscriptions. May’s Raw Spice Bar box had us travelling to the Andes and featured Peruvian spices and dishes.

peruvian-spice-rub-ancho-smoked-paprikaThe first packet contained a Peruvian Chicken spice blend of ancho chili and smoky paprika, which was paired with a Peruvian Spiced Roasted Chicken recipe. This chicken was SO GOOD! It was a huge hit with both my boyfriend and myself and was probably my favourite recipe I have made from Raw Spice Bar. The chicken was marinated in a blend of olive oil, lime juice, garlic and the spice blend, and then roasted in the oven. It was very easy and the results where absolutely delicious!

aji-amarillo-spices1The second packet contained Aji Amarillo spices and was a blend of ground dried aji amarillo chile, coriander, basil, mustard seed and other spices. This blend was paired with a Roasted Aji Amarillo Sweet Potato Wedges recipe. Neither my boyfriend or myself are a fan of sweet potatoes, but it ended up not mattering because the dish turned out to be such a disaster that we couldn’t eat them anyway. I’m not sure where I went wrong, but the potato wedges came out of the oven soggy and burnt to a crisp. There wasn’t one piece that was salvageable enough to try. This dish was definitely a flop.

pink-peppercorn-himalayan-sea-salt-spices1The third packet contained a Pink Peppercorn spice blend of pink peppercorn and pink Himalayan sea salt, which was paired with a Pink Peppercorn & Sea Salt Voladores recipe. I have yet to try out this recipe, but it looks simple enough. Two plain cookies sandwich a layer of melted chocolate, butter, cream and the spice blend. I imagine that this recipe will turn out pretty good, however I have found that Raw Spice Bar recipes are usually a big hit, or a big miss with no in-between. I will update this post once I have made and tried this one.

Raw Spice Bar’s May Peruvian box was just all-right. It was similar to last month in that the meat dish was an absolute knock out with the remaining dishes being a bit of a flop. How the dessert dish turns out will be a big deciding factor. I originally signed up for a 3 month subscription, which was available back when I signed up and this was my third and final month. I have enjoyed this subscription, however I don’t think I will be renewing it. It has been great for trying out new dishes and foods, yet needing to buy some weird ingredients that I will only use once is a bit of a strain on my student budget. If you would like to try out Raw Spice Bar for yourself, please click here. If you are already subscribed, I would love to hear how your box turned out for you!

Leave a Reply

