Uncategorized

My Weight-Loss Plan

I am very excited to be going to Cuba in a few months, it will be my first time not only off the continent, but on a plane as well! I am going with my boyfriends family, it’s going to be a big family reunion for them, and we are going for one week. The only problem is I would like to be in a little bit better shape before I go. I don’t consider myself overweight or anything, but I would definitely like to be in the best shape possible before I hit the beach in my camouflage swim suit!

shutterstock_97335074

I always have a terrible time sticking to any sort of diet or weight-loss plan, so I did some research and found one that I think will finally work for me. It’s called carb-cycling and one thing I liked about it is that it still lets me eat foods I like. I am not attempting to promote this plan, or claim any scientific benefits. I am merely sharing the steps I will be taking to reach and maintain a healthy weight for my first tropical vacation!

The main premise behindhealthy-carbs carb-cycling is alternating between low-carb and high-carb days. There are many different combinations, but I have chosen to follow a plan with 4 low-carb days (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday) and 2 high-carb days (Wednesday and Saturday). Sunday is my reward day where I can treat myself to whatever it is I have been craving throughout the week, as long as I don’t go overboard!

The basic rule for this plan is to eat 5 meals a day, no more and no less. Each morning, I plan to eat a high-carb breakfast that includes both protein and carbs, within 30 minutes of waking up, to jump-start my metabolism. The rest of my remaining 4 meals, either high-carb or low-carb, will be consumed ever 3 hours after that. Low-carb meals will consist of protein, veggies (green fibrous veggies, not the root or starchy kind) and healthy fat. High-carb meals will consist of protein, healthy carbs and veggies (again the green fibrous kind). There is a great portion guide from Chris Powell’s book “Choose More, Lose More for Life” below.

Carb_Cycling_HighLowDays

The second rule my weight loss plan is to drink a gallon of water each day. There are a thousand different reasons for why drinking water is important. It maintains your body’s fluid balance, gives you clearer skin, helps you stay refreshed and alert and so on. I’m not a huge fan of plain old water, so I will be adding sliced lemons, cucumbers, strawberries, etc. to my water to help give it a bit of healthy flavour. I find that I get a lot of headaches when I am at work, which could be a sign of dehydration, so amping up my water intake might help with this.

dukes24The third and final rule of my weight loss plan is one that should be included with any good plan, exercise! I intend to start 6 days a week with a quick 9 minute workout that will heat up my metabolism, by incorporating movements such as running, jumping, crunching and squatting. In addition to this, I will do 20 minutes of cardio at some point each of the 6 days. Friday nights are my line dancing nights, so it will be easy to fit my cardio in on those days!

Well that just about covers my weight-loss plan. I’m hoping that I will be sticking to it, and by blogging about it I think I will find myself more likely to. If anyone would like to share their healthy tips or inspiration I would love to hear it!

One thought on “My Weight-Loss Plan

  1. I’m gad you found something that worked for you! I’m undergoing a life-style change as well, and man, cutting out some of that good-tasting, junky food has been hard. Good luck with your goals. I hope you reach them 🙂
    -M.L.R.

    Like

Leave a Reply

