Blogging Tips & Milestones · Uncategorized

My Summer Blogging Goals

goals

I have recently signed up for the WordPress blogging course, “Blogging 201”. The very first assignment I received was to think about why I am blogging and to imagine what my blog would look like if it succeeded my wildest dreams. One of the biggest reasons I blog is as a way of self expression. I enjoy being able to sort out my thoughts and experiences into posts and be able to share them with the world. I also blog as a way to hopefully be able to connect with like-minded peers. I welcome the opportunity to engage with others in the form of comments, critiques, questions and just plain old chatting. If my blog exceeded my wildest dreams, I would see it as a thriving hot spot where people like myself can come for inspiration, knowledge and to connect with others. I would also love to start featuring guest posts at some point once I get a little more established and prominent.

The second part of the assignment was to take all this and narrow it down into three specific goals to help me achieve my vision. My three goals are as follows:

  1. Achieve 100 followers by August 31st. I am already over halfway there and 100 followers would be a pretty big milestone for my blog. Getting followers is one of the most basic way to grow my blog and increase traffic. For each click on that follow button I receive, that’s another person who liked what they saw on my little corner of the internet enough to want to see some more!
  2. Publish at LEAST 4 posts a week. I would like to ideally write 5 posts a week, but I recognize that some weeks are pretty busy and I will just keep myself accountable for 4. Sometimes I can get pretty slacky when it comes to actually posting and I want to make sure to keep my blog fresh and new by regularly updating my content.
  3. Write an informed and thoughtful comment on at least 1 blog every day. Right now I do not do this as often as I would like to. I can’t expect bloggers to actively engage with my posts unless I make sure to be doing the same! It is not only a great way to gain inspiration from others, but can also help draw others into my blog as well.
5 thoughts on “My Summer Blogging Goals

  1. I like your graphic – it’s clever and drew me in. Great goals. You kept them at three – I started with three and finished with five. Followers and posts we have in common. It’s going to be a great day and a great week. Looking forward to your next post. Have fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

