Desserts · Recipe

Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chip and . . . CARROT Cookies?

wpid-20150916_135743.jpg

One thing that I learned after venturing out on my own, was that feeding yourself can be hard work! Especially feeding yourself PROPERLY. I know that it’s important to get in my 7-10 fruits and vegetables a day, yet even with all the delicious options, sometimes I find it can be difficult. When I get that sweet tooth craving, I just don’t feel like chowing down on broccoli or Brussels sprouts and find myself grabbing a bag of cookies instead.

When I came across this recipe for Peanut Butter Carrot Cookies, I was a little sceptical at best. How could carrots and chocolate chips have any place belonging in the same cookie? However, I gave it a try and was very pleasantly surprised! You can’t even taste the carrots, yet I know they are in there! I imagine that this would be a great cookie recipe for young kids to sneak veggies into those picky eaters. If you would like to try this recipe out for yourself, just read on below. I would love to hear how it turns out for you!

Ingredientswpid-20150916_135901.jpg

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

3/4 cup white sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup grated carrots

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C)
  2. Cream together margarine, brown sugar, white sugar and peanut butter. Add in eggs and milk
  3. Sift together flour, salt and baking soda. Stir into batter, along with oats, carrots and chocolate chips
  4. Drop by teaspoon onto cookies sheets and bake for 15 minutes

.

Leave a Reply

