DIY

Home-Made Orange & Rosemary Cleaner

I have recently started to try using natural and home-made products in my apartment. I think it is a great way to keep chemicals off surfaces and out of the air, which will be a lot safer for both myself and my cat. One of my favourite places to get inspiration for any project is my Reader here on WordPress; checking out my fellow Blogger’s work always leads to something interesting! I happened across a great post on the blog Homeade Naturally talking about using herbs in natural all-purpose cleaners.

wpid-20151008_142841.jpgIn the post, blogger Donna writes about using rosemary sprigs from her indoor herb garden to make up some orange peel & rosemary all-purpose cleaning spray. I had some leftover rosemary from a recipe I had made earlier, and was looking for a way to use it up, so I thought that this would be a perfect thing to try out! Here are the steps:

Step 1: Fill a jar (any size) with orange peel and rosemary sprigs, keeping in mind to make sure you have only peel, no fruit! The more orange peel you place inside, the better your spray will smell!

Step 2: Pour white vinegar into your jar, leaving a small amount of space at the top

Step 3: Put a lid on the jar and leave your mixture to infuse for 2-4 weeks. I fully planned on waiting the full 4 weeks, but got to excited to try it by week 3

Step 4: Strain out the mixture, discarding the orange peel and rosemary sprigs, and pour into a spray bottle. Mix in one part water to one part vinegar

And that’s it! Your done! This makes a fantastic smelling all-purpose cleaner, which is a lot cheaper than buying one at a store. You can even just  get a spray bottle at the dollar store, making this even more affordable!

If you would like to read Donna’s post on the cleaner, please click here. I also found another great article about the cleaner on the website Living on Love, which can be found by clicking here.

3 thoughts on “Home-Made Orange & Rosemary Cleaner

Leave a Reply

