DIY

How to Clean your Oven

20151119_223417.jpg

Ever since I moved into my apartment, 2 1/2 years ago, I don’t think I have ever cleaned out my oven. I didn’t even know that was something that needed to be cleaned! However, the mysterious, hard black gunk was starting to take over and my smoke detector had taken to going off every time I turned the oven on, which made me think that maybe, just maybe, it was time to clean.

So I started looking online for a good method, one that used natural home-made products. I stumbled upon one on the website, The Kitchen, that described a way to clean it using baking soda and vinegar (they also had a lot of yummy recipe’s that I will have to go back to and try later!). I have been itching to try out the home-made orange and rosemary vinegar cleaning spray that I made not too long ago, so I thought that this would be a great project to take on.

  1. To start out, I removed my oven racks and then got them soaking in my sink with some hot water and dish soap to give them a good scrub
  2. The next step is to make your baking soda paste. To do so, mix 1/2 cup of baking soda with a few tablespoons of water, adding water 1 tablespoon at a time until you achieve the consistency of a spreadable paste
  3. Once you have your paste, put on your gloves and spread the paste all over the interior of your oven. Don’t forget the door and pay extra attention to any particularly dirty or greasy spots. The baking soda is going to turn black or brown and will start to pick up some of the chunky bits in your oven, so you will be glad for the gloves. Once your done, shut your oven door and leave it to sit overnight
  4. The next day, grab a bucket of warm water, a dish cloth and start wiping out as much of the baking soda as you can. This will probably require a couple rinses of your dish cloth and don’t worry if you can’t get it all of the baking soda completely out. Just try to get as much as you can with this step
  5. Once you have done that, put some vinegar into a spray bottle and spray any remaining baking soda inside your oven. The vinegar is going to react with the baking soda and start to foam up. By using my orange, rosemary vinegar spray I also had a nice, fresh smelling oven when I was done! Take your damp dish cloth again and wipe up the foamy vinegar-baking soda mixture. It’s during this step that your really going to start to see your oven shine!
  6. Replace your oven racks, step back and admire all your hard work!
Leave a Reply

