Favourite Things · Link Love

My Favourite Travel Destination – Prince Edward Island

I was cruising through my Blog Reader recently and found a beautiful post over on The Homemakers Life featuring amazing photos from one of their favourite travel destinations, Poros, Greece. It made me reflect on some of my own favourite travel destinations, and there are quite a few as travelling is one of my passions. I have to say though, that despite all the beautiful landscapes and cultures all around the world, nothing beats what you can find right here in Canada.

From a very early age, my parents instilled a deep pride and appreciation in me for my own beautiful country. Every year, right up until I left to move out on my own, we would pack ourselves into our family car, trailer in tow, and head out on a grand 2 1/2 week adventure each summer. I have been very lucky to have seen Canada from British Columbia, all the way over to my favourite province of all, Prince Edward Island.

Prince Edward Island has always had a special place in my heart. I love everything about it, from the culture, music, food, right down to the red dirt! One of my favourite memories of the island is of a ceilidh my dad and I went to. Ceilidh is Celtic for kitchen party, and they are very popular in PEI. You gather into a barn or town hall and stomp your boots and clamp your hands along to some amazing local musicians. This particular one included one of my favourite PEI singers, Mike Pendergast and my dad even won the 50/50 draw! It is a beautiful place to visit, the whole province has that small-town atmosphere I feel very at home in. Sadly it has been many years since I have been able to visit PEI, but I plan to hopefully return soon. Once I have a family of my own, I plan on continuing my parents tradition and showing my kids the beauty and magic of travelling our spectacular country.

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Travel Destination – Prince Edward Island

  1. Great post, thanks for the mention! I’ve always wanted to visit PEI. Anne of Green Gables has been one of my childhood’s greatest memories.. and main reason I want to visit. It just looks so peaceful, I’d love to stand by the sea and just admire everything about PEI. Beautiful pictures! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

