DIY · gardening

Community Garden Plot 2017

IMG_20170519_124354_091

This summer I have signed up for 2 plots in a local community garden, my first venture into the world of vegetable gardening! I am so excited to be able to grow my own produce! A vegetable garden has always been something I planned on having one day; along with my eclectic collection of bird houses and of course a chicken coop! I never thought I would have the opportunity to grow vegetables while living in my little apartment, well at least until I found out about this amazing program!

IMG_20170522_151926_609My Mom came down to visit me for the long weekend, and today was one of my rare and wonderful days off, so the two of us drove around beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake hitting up the flower nurseries. It was fun picking out all our different plants, and seeing the beautiful varieties out there. We ended up filling the back of the car with herbs, vegetables and flowers. The car smelled pretty darn good on the way home! I was warned that the garden is often the victim of visiting rabbits and deer, so I did plenty of research into plants that deter them. Some that I picked include Basil, Mint, Oregano and Onions!

IMG_20170522_204310_823I was way to excited to get my garden started to be able to wait even one more day. So after my Mom headed out, I packed up my garden tools and headed for my plots! I won’t lie, I had very little idea what I was doing, but I knew weeding was probably a pretty good place to start. As I was going through my plots, I discovered a few plants that actually weren’t weeds, but herbs left over from the previous gardener! Among my plant freebies includes Mint, Dill, Oregano and Chives! Of course, the first plant that went into my plot was a Lavender plant from my Lavender Farm. I picked the Massuet Lavender variety which is excellent at repelling bugs off my other plants.

I am really looking forward to learning all about vegetable gardening, seeing how my garden progresses over the summer and enjoying my very own produce! I will keep you all updated with my progress!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

